Award winners recognized at College of ACES banquet

April 15, 2014
ACES Library and Alumni Center

URBANA -- The University of Illinois College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences (ACES) honored outstanding faculty and staff at the annual Paul A. Funk Recognition Award Banquet held Monday, April 14, at Pear Tree Estate in rural Champaign, Ill.

The Paul A. Funk Recognition Award is the College of ACES' highest honor. It is presented annually to faculty for outstanding achievement and major contributions to the betterment of agriculture, natural resources, and human systems, said ACES Dean Robert Hauser, host of the evening's award ceremony.

The awards program was established in 1970 by the Paul A. Funk Foundation of Bloomington, Ill., as a memorial to the late Paul A. Funk, who attended the college as a member of the class of 1929 and devoted his life to agriculture.

The two recipients of the Funk Awards—Isaac K.O. Cann of Animal Sciences and Bruce J. Sherrick of Agricultural and Consumer Economics—headlined this year's ceremony.

The Spitze Land-Grant Professorial Career Excellence Award went to Sharon M. Donovan of Food Science and Human Nutrition. Paul E. McNamara of Agricultural and Consumer Economics received the Faculty Award for Global Impact.

The five recipients of the ACES Alumni Association Award of Merit were: M. Margaret (Meg) Barth, ’91, Ph.D., Food Science and Human Nutrition, Riverside, Calif.; Jerry R. Brookhart, ’63, B.S., Agricultural Science, Macomb, Ill.; Kenneth L. Dalenberg, ’71, B.S., Agronomy, ’04 M.S., Crop Sciences, Mansfield, Ill.; Larry H. Hageman, ’78, B.S., Agricultural Science, Rochelle, Ill.; and Barbara P. Klein, ’74, Ph.D., Home Economics, Champaign, Ill.

The Senior Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching went to Nicki J. Engeseth of Food Science and Human Nutrition, while the College Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching went to Michael J. Miller of Food Science and Human Nutrition.

Stephen P. Moose, Crop Sciences, and Cory D. Suski, Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences, received the Senior Faculty Award and College Faculty Award, respectively, for Excellence in Research.

The Senior Faculty Award for Excellence in Extension went to Robert V. Knox of Animal Sciences.

Patrick J. Tranel of Crop Sciences took home the Karl E. Gardner Outstanding Undergraduate Adviser Award.

The Teaching Associate Teaching Award was given to Paul B. Stoddard of Agricultural and Consumer Economics.

The Team Award for Excellence went to the members of the Modernizing Extension and Advisory Services team: Andrea B. Bohn, Rolin O. Ferguson, Paul E. McNamara, Benjamin C. Mueller, Burton E. Swanson, and Joyous Tata, all of Agricultural and Consumer Economics, and Brent M. Simpson, Agriculture, Food and Resource Economics, Michigan State University.

The Professional Staff Awards for Excellence were given to Debra J. Hagstrom, Animal Sciences, for Sustained Excellence in Advising, Teaching, and Outreach; Ronald E. Estes, Crop Sciences, for Sustained Excellence in Research; and Charles R. Stites, Animal Sciences, for Innovation and Creativity.

Patricia A. Sarver of Crop Sciences received the Staff Award for Excellence. Jamie R. Evans, Academic Programs, was awarded the Marcella M. Nance Staff Award.

The Graduate Student Research Awards went to Kang Mo Ku, Crop Sciences, and Eric J. Sedivy, Crop Sciences, for Ph.D. work and M.S. work, respectively.

Louis V. Logeman Graduate Student Teaching Awards were given to Sarah K. Scholl, Food Science and Human Nutrition, and Daniel E. Weber, Crop Sciences.

For more information and videos, go to


News Source

News Writer